Waiting for LCWRA Backdated payment — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Waiting for LCWRA Backdated payment

hammers1970
hammers1970 Community member Posts: 16 Connected
This is my first post.

On December 3rd 2020 I had a tribunal with Universal Credit regarding LCWRA, I had been fighting this for 3 years, I was successful and won the appeal, it was agreed that I would receive 3 years of backdated payments.

A few days later I called Universal Credit, to see if they were aware of the tribunal outcome, I was told yes they are aware and it has been agreed that I would receive a backdated payment of 3 years, I was also told that payments can take up to 8 weeks.

I’m now in my 12th week since the tribunal and I have still not received any payment.

I have phoned several times asking for an update, I get told someone will contact me within 48 hours, I have not received one phone call. I’m also told it’s with the Decision Maker. Also I started work in November 2019 so my Universal Credit claim has been closed therefore I cannot put any notes on my journal.

I don’t know what to do, I feel like I’m going round and round in circles.

I have explained that I am in a vulnerable position, reason being is that I have bad credit so cannot rent a property unless I give 6 months to 1 years rent up front, so the backdated payment I’m waiting for will allow me to pay the rent up front, but in the meantime I am living in my car, which I have explained to Universal Credit.

How long should I have to wait?

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome 

As you have been advised it normally takes about 8 weeks so you have been waiting a while 

It maybe due to you no longer having a live account 

All you can do is wait or ring and ask to speak to the DM or someone senior as the wait is beyond normal and I'd putting you in financial distress