Professional Artists? Starting a discussion on barriers to accessing art — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Professional Artists? Starting a discussion on barriers to accessing art

Options
Udosdottir
Udosdottir Community member Posts: 40 Courageous
Hello, are any professional artists on here?

I am an artist myself, and in the artist led gallery space in which I have my studio, we are currently discussing diversity in general. I feel that neuro-diversity and disability is not being considered enough. I am a mother of disabled children but I am not disabled myself, and I would be interested in hearing from disabled artists (and artists with disabilities) or anyone interested in the matter, really, about their view on what are the most glaring barriers they are facing.
For example whether it is foremost about physical barriers and accessible buildings, venues, galleries,... Or whether systemic barriers are the bigger issue, and whether there are any ideas around on how to tackle them.

If you are available for a chat that would be great. Or equally appreciated would be a link to a website where such issues are discussed in more detail? Thanks a bunch!

Udosdottir

Comments

• Kit_
    Kit_ Community member Posts: 31 Connected
    Options
    I'm not a professional artist but I do try to sell the occasional print to fund my hobby and I'd like to sell more work. I have multiple disabilities and I'm autistic. I find that there are art groups for disabled people for fun but when you say you want to take things more seriously, they act as though you're "not disabled enough" to be in the group any more.