Hi, I am looking for some Aspergers-career advice! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I am looking for some Aspergers-career advice!

Potatoboy
Potatoboy Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited March 2021 in Autism and neurodiversity
Hello, I came here because I have ASD (formerly aspergers). I am 21 and I still live with my parents. At the moment i'm in my final year of university, studying Art & Technology. My main interests are art, design and animation. I've always had the question how I am supposed to live my life after college, and how to spend my workdays, knowing that my mind works differently.

Fortunately, I learned to socialize and collaborate which has really opened the world for me. My weakest point, however, is that I can not filter out thoughts by priority. I get distracted very easily, not by sounds or the environment but by my own imagination. Memories and cool ideas create a chain-reaction of random thoughts, making my mind going on a "trip" whenever I need to do things that don't fascinate me as much like homework or client-work.

However, this "filterless" trait is also a bless; it boosts my creativity and lets me hyperfocus (if I focus on what I love). This is why my personal projects have been wayyy better than my school projects. Therefore I am so passionate about art: it allows me to follow my own interests, letting my mind go in its own direction.

My question: what are your personal experiences in work- and life? You can share me anything you think is relevant. Maybe some of you are creatives, or even have ASD as well. Any tips, do's and don'ts?

Thanks by advance!
Tagged:

Comments

• Geoark
    Geoark Community member Posts: 1,463 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @Potatoboy and welcome to the community.