Hello — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hello

Options
cath2506
cath2506 Community member Posts: 8 Listener
edited March 2021 in Work and employment
Hello everyone,

I am new to scope and the forums so thought I’d introduce myself. 

I have been disabled for almost 4 years after contracting sepsis. I was in ICU for many weeks and they discovered that the septic shock had damaged my heart valve and I had to have open heart surgery and now have a mechanical valve. I also had to relearn how to walk.

Ever since, I have struggle with chronic fatigue and Muscle pain. I have recently been diagnosed with fibromyalgia secondary to the sepsis. My GP believes the trauma my body has been through has brought it on.

I have tried to go back to work and I’m only contracted for 12 hours at the moment but I’m struggling with it. So much so that I’m seriously considering finishing on I’ll health retirement.

I was wondering if anyone else has been through finishing work due to ill health and if you had any success in getting your pension paid early? I imagine it’s not easy to get as it’s difficult to prove that I’ll never get better before retirement age even though I know I won’t (I’m 40 at the moment). 

Any info would be very much appreciated.

I hope you all feel well.

Thank you 
Cath x
Tagged:

Comments

• Lisatho11987777
    Lisatho11987777 Scope Member Posts: 5,911 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi I drew my pension when I was 55 I just had to fill a form in I had it in a lump sum some pay by cheque some pay into your bank account  I found it easy I contacted my pension provider I had my money as soon as they received my form so roughly about two weeks 

Also welcome to the community hope you enjoy ?
  • vikingqueen
    vikingqueen Scope Member Posts: 1,432 Disability Gamechanger
    Options