Hi, I'm Georgiana_Scope! I'm a student social worker and want to hear your views! - Page 2 — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I'm Georgiana_Scope! I'm a student social worker and want to hear your views!

Comments

• Georgiana_Alumni
    Georgiana_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 47 Connected
    @chiarieds
    Thank you very much for your interesting story. As a student we do cover disability but as I am doing my placement with Scope I am lucky enough to get more training on it than my peers. I am interested in your comments about life experience. As a mature student I do have quite vast life experience of different issues including disability but have an interest in various areas of social work including youth offending for example and don't have any experience there! I wonder if I might be able to offer a fresh perspective to this new area and not be jaded but others might think I need more specific training? I think with most degrees and masters courses you are provided with a general overview of social work and then it is paid employment that provides actual specific experience. I have really enjoyed learning about the plights of disabled people and can identify with them but I still have a lot to learn and welcome the challenge
  • Georgiana_Alumni
    @MarkN88
    Thank you for taking the time to comment and provide a snapshot of your experience and I'm glad it was favorable, It certainly gives me a boost to think that there are positive perceptions out there. I do think the panorama style documentaries can show a very negative view of social work and as they are seen by millions do have a lot of influence on perception it would be nice to see more balanced views and perhaps hear about some of the success stories that don't make the news. Have a great day 
  • Lisatho11987777
    Lisatho11987777 Scope Member Posts: 5,911 Disability Gamechanger