successfully claiming for years but refused after phone assessment extremely scared — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

successfully claiming for years but refused after phone assessment extremely scared

abbi1995
abbi1995 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited April 2021 in PIP, DLA, and AA
hello I've been receiving pip for a few years after being sectioned under the mental health act on multiple times. I have PTSD, Attachment disorder, BPD, depression and anxiety. I am unter the mental health team and things have been slow since covid. I also have a social worker and care worker come once a week. 
I have never had a problem when going to face to face assessments and usually have to take people with me to support as I fine social situations extremely difficult. I found the phone assessment alot easier to cope with as there was none of the normally stresses. I was in my bed, in my home. so found it easier to talk but this seems to have been a bad thing as I usually have a full blown panic attack at assessments, can't cope with the stress and spent most of the time in tears. I hate this but honestly it would have had a better outcome because they could have seen what I struggle with. 

I'm very worried because my letter says that they have overpaid me and they will be contacting me to pay it back but they have stopped my pip and I honestly wasn't expecting it and have less then £50 to my name. 
I've been trying to contact my social worker but she isn't in the office and today isn't the my support worker comes and I think shes away. my mental health worker can't help every much with the benefits side of thing. 
has anyone been told they have been overpaid before how much do you usual have to pay back a month.? will they let me lay in installments? 

Comments

• Ross_Alumni
    Ross_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,652 Disability Gamechanger
    edited April 2021