Hi a newbie here I've recently been told I have ASD — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi a newbie here I've recently been told I have ASD

Options
spankie76
spankie76 Community member Posts: 30 Connected
edited May 2021 in Autism and neurodiversity
Hi my name is actually spankie but I have fat thumbs?(don't know if I can change it now). I'm 44 and have recently been told I have asd( October 2020), not really sure how I feel about it all so thought I'd start talking too people. Sometimes I can see it but others I feel I'm not like what I hear and read about others with asd.
Tagged:

Comments

• Sandy_123
    Sandy_123 Scope Member Posts: 49,893 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @soankie76 welcome to the community  or should I say spankie, its a lot to take in when given a new diagnosis, there are lots of us to talk to here.
  • woodbine
    woodbine Community member Posts: 11,618 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    @soankie76 hi spankie and welcome to scope, hope you are well this evening?
    2024 The year of the general election...the time for change is coming 💡

• spankie76
    Options
    Thank you.
    I just want to understand it more. I hear about people being diagnosed in teens and twenties but not around my age, which then starts me thinking which leads to overthinking then I'll convince myself there can't be anything wrong with me. It would be nice to hear experiences of people who got diagnosed later in life 
  • janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi and welcome to the community 

Feel free to join in or ask any questions 
  • spankie76
    Options
    Is there a usual procedure for being diagnosed like tests or is there normally a certain amount of appointments before they give a diagnosis? I'm only asking because I had two appointments and it was in the first appointments I was told they believe I have asd 
  • Sandy_123