Mystery undiagnosed spasms that are becoming a big burden — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Mystery undiagnosed spasms that are becoming a big burden

Options
Stokesoph96
Stokesoph96 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
Hey guys! I'm new to this but it would be amazing if anyone has anything similar or knows what root to go down on getting diagnosed and on medication that could help!! 

I have had a spasm condition for the past 10 years now, which radiates mainly in my hands and arms, where each finger and muscle in my hands moves at it's on accord and tenses my thumb and hand together tight to the palm. I get tense shoulders and the whole of my arms ache in pain from it. This also occurs in my eyelids, my lips and occasionally my thighs and feet.
Now I have so far not been able to find any cause for them starting and there's no obvious triggers, other than it gets worse if I am really anxious or after drinking alcohol too, although it's not all the time. 
I have been on antidepressants, muscle relaxants and epileptic medication, I went to therapy for anxiety which ruled out this is the reason for them. I've had bloods and they are only ever slightly low in iron, I have has neurological scans on my brain and there is non signs of it being to do with my brain causing it. I had a stay in hospital where they monitored my brain and nerve conduction and nothing was picked up from that either.
It has got to the point that doctors have given up on me and I haven't been able to find a medication or diagnosis to help out. It has got worse as I've got older and happens atleast 2 times a day and there's no possible way I can stop the triggers and spasms happening myself.

I know this is a far shot but if anyone has any ideas it would be greatly appreciated!!

Comments

• Oxonlady
    Oxonlady Scope Member Posts: 566 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi @Stokesoph96, sorry to hear of your problems.