Terrified to work — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Terrified to work

Options
Stellar
Stellar Community member Posts: 131 Pioneering
Hi,

I'm a 23 year old woman who is terrified at returning to work and I'm not sure what to do. I'm autistic and have adhd. I also have cPTSD, anxiety and OCD which are undiagnosed and I have no intentions of getting a formal dx. I am in therapy though. apologies in advance, this is long and not fully coherent, but i hope it becomes why.

Thing is, I have a lot of experience of part time work and studying (even went abroad for a year as part of my undergrad). Though in terms of full time work I don't have much. I've never had help growing up to prepare me for the world of work either - my family were either bad role models (ie. abusive) or are out of work for so long any advice they could give is out of date.

I've had good experiences as well as bad experiences at work. My last job (prior to the pandemic) I was forced to accept it due to being failed by services to get help to leave an abusive living situation and believed working was my only way out. Unfortunately it was not a good job for me as the environment was sensory hell, the workload was too chaotic and I couldn't get the training or accommodations I needed. I also could not address my underlying situation hence I was let go after seven weeks. For the record, this situation is better now, but everything i went through (|including being repeatedly failed by services to the point where i had to move halfway across england just to try again) is why i have more than just autism/adhd now.