Advice needed! (Housing) — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Advice needed! (Housing)

Options
TylerB1984
TylerB1984 Community member Posts: 1 Listener

Hey everyone!

I've never done anything like this before for one reason or another, but hopefully someone can spare some time to give a little advice as I really don't know where to make a start.

Basically I'm looking to see if it's possible I can get my own flat as I live with my Mother and her husband in what's a pretty toxic environment. I've put up with it for a long while now but I really feel I can't close my eyes and hope everything turns out okay any longer. I've been getting ESA and PIP benefits for a while now. I have a number of issues, and I'm also autistic, so I don't understand these things, how they work, very well to say the least. Is it possible for people on these benefits to even look for a place to live of their own? If so, where is the best place to make a start? I'm worried that if I don't do something very soon I'm going to end up homeless sooner rather than later. In the last couple of years I've lost my Father and both of my Grandparents, and don't have any other family that live anywhere close to the area I live, so I don't really have anywhere or someone else to fall back on.

If someone could point me in the right direction that would be very much appreciated. Obviously down the line I would like to work again, but know I have a long road ahead to try and deal with my health anxiety and panic disorder before I can even really contemplate earning a living for myself again. My mental health is in a pretty dark place at the moment and I'm really at the point where I need to try to do something to help myself before I really give up all hope.

Many thanks!
Tagged:

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    edited June 2021
    Options