Work aren’t very supportive — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Work aren’t very supportive

Options
holly29
holly29 Community member Posts: 4 Listener
Hi everyone,

I have a 5year old daughter who has asd, life is very challenging and i feel extremely depressed. I’m currently on anti-depressants and ant-anxiety tablets and I’m still really struggling. I have scoliosis myself... I’m really struggling to find a balance between work, being a mum, caring for my daughter, my eldest daughter is also struggling and has been referred for counselling at school- she’s only 9,  whilst also myself Being in pain. 

Most nightS I’m late out of work- last week was every night, I work in retail. On Friday, it was already 10 minutes past my shift and I asked if I could leave as I had to pick my children up. I explained that my daughter with autism struggles with routine change and likes everything done in a certain way, otherwise it makes her extremely distressed. Every evening it’s a struggle to get her home from my parents who look after her when I’m at work. She’ll have a massive melt down as she finds the transition really hard. I was spoken to horribly by my manager who patronised me in front of work colleagues... when I tried to get a word in she just stuck her hand up at me saying “we’ll talk About it Monday” over and over again to me. My floor manager was stood behind her, and was nodding and agreeing with me but the deputy manager was awful to me. This is the same manager that when I was on the front door counting in customers said that me needing a seat because of my scoliosis because I was in pain was unprofessional. 

Can I just add they’ll keep us for a certain length of time then we’ll clock out and then stand by the front door for sometimes another 25 minutes to be let out as they lock the door.. whilst they are sat in the office.