Just what is going on with ESA these days? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Just what is going on with ESA these days?

LeeA380
LeeA380 Community member Posts: 59 Connected
I have been claiming ESA due to an accident at work since mid july 2020. 
Of course, next month is the "end" of my claim.

I am awaiting a telephone assessment to see if this can be extended or whatever (I phoned them today and the guy told me a call was planned from around August 2020, yet no-one has bothered to ring me).

I also learned that rather than ESA continuing into the next 12 month period until assessment, it actually gets suspended immediately.

How is this my fault? I know I am not the only one in this predicament!
Covid or no covid is not hard to arrange a telephone interview! I am now thinking that DWP are using the pandemic as an excuse.

So what can I do next? Apply for UC? What if I don't get it? Live on the streets?

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    If you are eligible apply for UC. You can receive UC at the same time as ESA anyway (depending on your financial circumstances). Obviously you may not be due any payment, particularly if you have a working partner. You can use a benefits calculator to check.

Government have been lobbied to extend the 12 month limit on ESA for those waiting for assessments but all such lobbying has fallen on deaf ears.
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • LeeA380
    calcotti said:
    If you are eligible apply for UC. You can receive UC at the same time as ESA anyway (depending on your financial circumstances). Obviously you may not be due any payment, particularly if you have a working partner. You can use a benefits calculator to check.