Is my dad who gets guarantee pension credit entitled to Housing Benefit? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Is my dad who gets guarantee pension credit entitled to Housing Benefit?

Beesmummy798
Beesmummy798 Community member Posts: 71 Courageous
Hi there, I'm new to this so bear with me please ?. I joined for myself but would like to ask a question on behalf of my dad. A bit of a confusing one.. My dad lives on his own in a fold type housing association apartment. Originally when he went into this apartment he did so jointly with my mum, as a joint tenancy.
Nearly 2 years ago my mum moved out and she is now living with my sister for reasons relating to dad's illness, agression etc. Although she is named on the tenancy for security she can't live there, it's impossible unfortunately ? but if anything happens to dad she needs the security that she won't be homeless, and eventually will take the apartment over. My dad is 77, gets guarantee pension credit and pips but he is paying £500 per month rent out of this. It's too much money as he doesn't have a lot in savings. Can anyone advise if he is eligible for housing benefit without my mums name being taken off tenancy agreement? Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated xxx

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    edited June 2021
    What is a 'fold type' apartment?

If he claims Housing benefit he should get full payment of eligible rent because he gets guarantee Pension Credit. Whether the full rent is treated as eligible or only 50% because of the joint tenancy i am not sure but i would expect he would get at least the 50%. If he is liable for Council tax he could get Council Tax Reduction too.
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • Beesmummy798
    edited June 2021