Claiming Pip since 2016 mobilty change — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Claiming Pip since 2016 mobilty change

Options
jacksaaa
jacksaaa Community member Posts: 21 Connected
edited June 2021 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi there..

So I recently seen people who was claiming pip from back around 2017 could of been given the wrong points for the planning and following a journey part on the mobility questions.

I've been claiming pip since around 2016 and have been on enhanced Daily living and standard mobility. When I claimed I had to go through the tribunal to get this. I'm 99% sure I was awarded the highest I could get for this descriptor.

Am I right in thinking that if this was the case I should have been receiving enhanced mobility?

I have also just been reviewed recently couple months back and I was given 10 points for that descriptor which I am happy with as my health was in a worse way over them years.

Thanks for taking time to read

Comments

• chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,103 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @jacksaaa - as your award was made by a tribunal, & not the DWP, I'm unsure if this would relate to you. The DWP are looking at claims where the claimant might be deemed to suffer from 'overwhelming psychological distress,' but only claims where the DWP would consider giving more points, & that this would mean a claimant would get awarded the standard rate of mobility, or it might increase their award to the enhanced. This relates to the 'planning & following a journey' descriptor of the mobility component. Please see: https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/personal-independence-payment-changes/overwhelming-psychological-distress-and-journeys-changes-to-pip-law-from-28-november-2016
  • jacksaaa
    jacksaaa Community member Posts: 21 Connected
    Options