Disability ellament and carers ellament — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Disability ellament and carers ellament

erangeyj
erangeyj Community member Posts: 23 Listener
I've been receiving dla and carers allowance for my son dla for just over 2 years and carers allowance for just over a year I didn't no anything about the ellaments will they both be backdated to when he was awarded both of them

Comments

• erangeyj
    Can anyone give me a bit of understanding please 
  • calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    Do you mean that you have claimed UC but have not told UC about the DLA or CA? If so, when did you claim UC? Why did you not tell them when you claimed? Have you told them now?
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • erangeyj
    I've been claiming uc for a few years now but am a single farther with 2 kids my son was diagnosed with ASD 2 years ago then I started claiming cares allowance but I did not no ur get informed about the ellaments until  I got told about the 4 weeks ago by my housing officer so I put a note on my journal now on my next uc payment the 2 ellaments are on there and I have put a request in for them to be backdated 
  • erangeyj
    Yes I've told them now and the 2 ellaments are on my next uc payment but just needed to no if they will dackdate them to when his DLA was awarded and since I've been receiving CA for him
  • calcotti
    edited June 2021
    They may refuse to backdate because you did not report the change at the time. However if they do refuse them to ask them to look again at the decision. They have the power to make an any time revision of the earlier award on the grounds that new information is available.

Have you actually asked them to backdate it?