Final thoughts for a student social worker — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Final thoughts for a student social worker

Georgiana_Alumni
Georgiana_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 47 Connected
edited July 2021 in Coffee lounge
Hello everybody

For anyone that didn't see earlier posts I am a student social worker on placement with Scope and am coming to the end of my 4 months with the charity and wanted to reach out for your final thoughts.

I'd love to hear what your concerns, loves and hates are at the moment. How is Covid affecting you? What's occupying your time and importantly your thoughts and what advice would you give to me going forward in my career.

It has been a fantastic opportunity to work with so many dedicated staff and volunteers at Scope as well as talk to so many of you and I wouldn't have swapped it for anything.

I  have learned a lot about the issues that affect those that have disabilities and hope this will improve my future practice. 

I wish you all well and look forward to hearing from some of you 

Best wishes

Georgiana

Comments

• Lisatho11987777
    Lisatho11987777 Scope Member Posts: 5,911 Disability Gamechanger
    I have found it difficult to access help for my mum who has dementia and social services weren't very help ful at all because mum cant get help because she has to much money 

I have managed to find carers for the days I need them but I am haveing an eye operation and only need someone to sit with mum for four hours and that is hard prople are asking for 100.00 just for the four hours it's ridiculous and not fair being penalised for working all her life 
  • Georgiana_Alumni
    @lisathomas50