becoming self employed and coming off benefits — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

becoming self employed and coming off benefits

pabab22
pabab22 Community member Posts: 49 Connected
Hi I have just published a book on Amazon, I'm trying to come off benefits completely, as an artist I try to stay creative to help with my mental health, and even though I'm housebound, I decided to look into writing a book, I have now published a book and it's going well I sold 20 copies in the first week, and on an earlier post I discussed possibly moving into my own place, it's not going great looking for a place as not many landlords accept housing benefit, I wanted to know if there is any help with the transition from benefits to self-employment, I am going to ring DWP and tell them about the book, but was not sure this counted as work as nothing has changed in my life apart from writing and publishing the book which was all done from home with software from my computer, I am also looking to do freelancing work painting portraits and landscapes from home but I want to let DWP know, is there any advice you could give thank you.

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    What benefits do you currently receive?
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • pabab22
    hi calcotti i receive pip both lower rates and I am in the support group of ESA thanks for your reply 
  • calcotti
    You should look at permitted work rules for ESA
    https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/employment-and-support-allowance-permitted-work-form/permitted-work-factsheet

If you breach the limits your entitlement to ESA ends completely. I don't know how they will assess the earnings in your circumstances.

Universal Credit doesn't have this 'cliff edge', it simply reduces if earnings increase.