Hi, I get ESA support group. If my child is awarded DLA can I claim carers? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I get ESA support group. If my child is awarded DLA can I claim carers?

jo_chloe
jo_chloe Community member Posts: 4 Listener
Hi can anyone help. I get esa for myself and my child has just been awarded dla can I claim carers and does it not effect my esa. Thanks
Tagged:

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi and welcome to the community 

Im no expert on esa but I think if the person you care for gets dla then you can claim carers allowance 

Other members will be able to help you 
  • chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,097 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @jo_chloe - & welcome to the community. Is your ESA the New style ESA or contribution based?
  • calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    Key question is what type of ESA you get. Is it new style ESA or the old ESA (which could be contribution based or income based or a mix of both contribution based and income based).
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • jo_chloe
    Hi think it's the old one I've been on it for 7 years. 
  • calcotti
    jo_chloe said:
    Hi think it's the old one I've been on it for 7 years. 
    Do you know if it is all income based or contribution based or a mix of contribution based and income based?
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • jo_chloe
    Think it's income related base
  • calcotti