Hi, I'm AnnetteBoden! I have CFS and am considering applying for PIP + blue badge. — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I'm AnnetteBoden! I have CFS and am considering applying for PIP + blue badge.

Options
AnnetteBoden
AnnetteBoden Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited August 2021 in Start here and say hello!
Hi My name is Annette
I am a self-employed integrative psychotherapist by profession. I have suffered from CFS (diagnosed 1996) and fibromylagia for many years (diagnosed 2009 but symptoms many years prior crossing over with CFS)
Recently my struggle has worsened and I have had to reduce my working days further to 3 and just 6 hours per day tops.
I am struggling financially due to this as my husband does not work due to ill health although neither of us claim benefits. This seems unsustainable now as I am increasingly getting weaker and cannot do ordinary things such as cleaning, walking etc.
It is a hidden disability as people think i'm fine and just a bit scatter brained with the brain fog, or unreliable because I have cancelled so many events last minute, so I have lost a lot of friends. Family try to understand but lots of advice doesn't help and being told I overdo things -I cannot reduce my working hours any further, and I love my work, it is my life's work and my souls purpose.
I am a very positive happy person normally and have much gratitude for the life I am given but as I get older (56 now) and have arthritis also, I cannot do any of the normal things I used to do.
I am for the first time considering PIP and a blue badge as I struggle to get upstairs and can only walk a very short distance without feeling my legs go to concrete. I cannot lift shopping bags easily and have to have help or unscrew jars in the kitchen, wash my hair, brush my hair-it does make me feel quite inadequate.