Hi, my username is AnKa and I am new to Scope — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my username is AnKa and I am new to Scope

AnKa
AnKa Community member Posts: 5 Listener
edited September 2021 in Autism and neurodiversity
Hi,
I am an autistic woman in my 50s. I have actually identified as disabled for decades, but I have never before joined a disability community. I have had this funny sort of imposter-syndrome relation to it, because my disabilities hasn’t been all that visible. (I am also moderately hearing impaired). Now, dyspraxia, and the resulting early onset osteoarthritis, has become so bad that it heavily affects my ability to walk. This in turn triggers my executive dysfunction, which makes it very difficult making my body move even if I want to. I get disorientated and loose my ability to navigate. I do realise that I need help. Walking has been my way of caring for my mental health and for keeping my heart strong (I have a very rare heart and lung condition as well). Hikes in the mountains have been my way of holiday-ing, and I have been proud of being a ‘mountain goat’. It has been part of my identity really. Now that I cannot even manage my daily walks any longer I feel totally lost.
I am lucky having a husband who is also my daily life carer, doing the things that I might find hard due to executive dysfunction and sensory overload. But I really do miss the ability to walk with him on his walks. He is very fit and walks 10-20 miles every day. Walking together has been a good way for us to communicate, as he cannot sit still for very long.