Sudden sensory neural hearing loss (SNHL) — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Sudden sensory neural hearing loss (SNHL)

Options
APickle
APickle Community member Posts: 10 Connected
edited September 2021 in Sensory impairments
Hello all, I'm new here so I wanted to say hi and reach out to people with a similar impairment to mine.  I have had mild-moderate Sensoryneural Hearing loss (likely autoimmune) in one ear, which was manageable over the past 2 years.  I suddenly lost some hearing in my 'good' ear at the end of last week, so it feels more like a life-altering impairment and one that I am just beginning to adjust to. 

I got myself to A&E for a course of steroids and antivirals, and got an audiogram a few days later, which I've sent to my medical team. Things have happened fast.  When I lost my hearing in my 'bad' ear, I was not working and had no idea of what was available re assistive equipment and support groups, so the research is only just beginning!   Hopefully with decent hearing aids I will manage, and I have recently learned about equipment like the Phonak Roger pen and various treatments and implants. 

I have an underlying worry about a lot of things at the moment:  the impact it will have on my relationships, communication, and work.  I'm not currently working, but the work I do involves talking intensively to people and exploring issues and solutions, usually one-to-one.   I also worry about being misunderstood- being seen as slow or stupid as I've heard the horror stories!  I have been stereotyped and judged quite a lot in my recent life and this seems like another complication.

I feel like I'm rambling, but I'd love to hear about your experiences with SNHL and what helped.  Is there anything you know now that you wish you knew at the start?  Thanks!

Comments

• Ross_Alumni
    Ross_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,652 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hello @APickle