Having negative experiences when you tell people you have Fibromyalgia — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Having negative experiences when you tell people you have Fibromyalgia

claudiiewilson
claudiiewilson Community member Posts: 7 Listener
Hello all,

Just wondering if anyone had any negative experiences? I've recently had one at my work place. I work as a Medical Receptionist and long story short, one of the Doctors who works at the practice said that "Fibromyalgia isn't a real issue" I was so in shock I didn't respond to him and instead left and had a cry in the toilet (had supportive colleagues with me) Just felt so angry, I don't wish this pain on anyone and would certainly no be pretending.

Just interested to see if anyone else had dealt this something like this?

Tagged:

Comments

• HJP290
    HJP290 Community member Posts: 45 Connected
    Hi huni so sorry for what happened to you im only 2 n half years in 

most people have been great certain people say can u just not try this or this or are u sure they cant fix you ??‍♀️ 

And my reply is no there isnt and i do what i am able i dont really care if dont belive me 

dont need people like taht in your life
    report it document who witnessed it and put fomplaint in stress and upset will aggrivate your condition 

well done for carrying on working i didnt manage it so high five and keep going xx 
  • Oxonlady
    Oxonlady Scope Member Posts: 566 Pioneering
    Hi @claudiiewilson, yes I'm afraid I have. I was with the Rheumatologist at a London hospital, who claimed to be the world's expert on Fibromyalgia and he bluntly said to me that Fibromyalgia is all in the mind and he would not allow me to have any further investigations.