Can I claim New Style ESA when on UC with LCWRA? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Can I claim New Style ESA when on UC with LCWRA?

mjh2222
mjh2222 Community member Posts: 31 Connected
edited September 2021 in Universal Credit (UC)
Hi

Can I claim New Style ESA when on UC with LCWRA?  If so, would the amount I received from New Style ESA change my UC monthly amount?

I am new to ESA, it says it is being replaced by UC, but I am already on UC.

Thanks

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,333 Disability Gamechanger
    edited September 2021
    New Style ESA is a contributions only based benefit and is not being replaced by UC and will never be part of it. The old Income Related ESA was replaced by UC.

To claim this you will have needed to have paid the correct amount of NI contributions from working in tax years April 2018 to March 2020.

If you claim both together the ESA will be deducted in full from your UC entitlement. 
    With NsESA you receive class 1 NI credits and UC you receive class 3. The ESA is a weekly benefit paid fortnightly. It is also not means tested like UC is so if you’re eligible to claim it would be worth your while claiming it.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • mjh2222
    Hi Poppy

Ok I will not apply for the New Style ESA now that I have understood that.  Thank you for your message, it explained everything for me.

Thanks,
  • poppy123456