Hi, my name is TheAlien! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is TheAlien!

TheAlien
TheAlien Community member Posts: 228 Pioneering
Hello all,  I'm new to this so please forgive me if I make any mistakes.

I live along and cope as best I can with a physical disability, a long term health problem and mental health problems.  I won't go into details, but the physical disability is a very rare inherited one.

Comments

• Sandy_123
    Sandy_123 Scope Member Posts: 46,719 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @TheAlien welcome  to the forum,  join in with the many topics or games. I have a physical disability too but it's not rare. 
  • TheAlien
    Hi Sandy, thanks for the welcome.

Apparently mine is 1 in 50,000 and I've even had a GP Google it in front of me which didn’t exactly inspire confidence, lol.

I'm going to have a good look around.
  • Sandy_123
    Sandy_123 Scope Member Posts: 46,719 Disability Gamechanger
    GPS do use Google they've done it infront me on accasion. 1 in 50,000  :o .
  • chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,007 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @TheAlien - & welcome to the community. Thank you for joining us all. I also have a genetic disorder (Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome), & 20 years ago the incidence was thought to be 1 in 20,000; 10 years later, 1 in 10,000, & currently 1 in 5,000, so things can change. I also have a neurological disorder, the chances of this happening considered to be just over 3 million to 1 if they weren't associated in some (i.e. Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome + Chiari 1 Malformation).