I was bullied for my mental health disability - I want to raise it with the police but I’m anxious — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I was bullied for my mental health disability - I want to raise it with the police but I’m anxious

Options
Becky88
Becky88 Community member Posts: 31 Connected
Hi, I hope this is the right forum. This is long, sorry. I’m not good at being succinct when it comes to verbalising events which have taken place but I’ll try to keep it as short as possible while providing all info. 

Recently, one of my mothers carers made several negative comments to my mother about me, all of which were assumptions she had made about me due to my depression. She alluded to my mother that I was using my depression as an excuse to avoid work, implied I was falsely claiming benefits, and commented on my absence history at work saying I had been off work sick for 6 months and that this was inexcusable as “depression doesn’t last 28 weeks”. I’ve struggled with severe depression since I was 14 and until July worked full time. Only reason I stopped working in July is because my temporary contract came to an end. I am now awaiting a start date for a new full time role. While I had been off work sick in my old job, this was due to a hostile environment, regardless it wasn’t any of the carer’s concern why or if I had been absent from work. I didn’t even work for her company so it’s not as if she was in any way affected by any absence. 

I wasn’t present for this conversation, this was all relayed to me by my mother who rightly got extremely angry and demanded she leave her home. 

My mother made me aware of the things she had been saying about me and I ended up on the phone to the Samaritans for over an hour sobbing and feeling suicidal. It took the lady I spoke to (god bless her) 90 minutes to talk me down from suicidal thoughts.