Financial help or funding for a masters degree? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Financial help or funding for a masters degree?

KoalaKatie1993
KoalaKatie1993 Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited November 2021 in Education
I’m looking at whether or not it’s even feasible for me to do a masters right now. 

I did my degree in 2013-2018 (took longer than normal because of my health) and my health rapidly declined in 2018. 

It’s still bad and I haven’t worked. But I was thinking of trying do further my education while I was off work. My ideal masters is taught very close to my home town. And I meet the entry requirements. 

However I just don’t see how people afford it even without disabilities. I mean surely part time and working alongside is the only way unless you have someone pay for your living expenses. 

The course I want is not available part time and I couldn’t work anyway. But I cannot work out the universal credit website. Because it says something about may be able to claim universal credit if you get LCW and PIP. 
I’ve had LCWRA for almost 4 years now. And I have my second PIP application coming up (they denied it 3 years ago and I wasn’t well enough to appeal. All my medical professionals have said I should be on it so reapplied).

So first question is can I claim UC for living costs while I am studying an MRes? If I get LCW and PIP. And who do I talk to about this?

And second is what happens with the masters loan? Being classed as income? Because the entire loan is going to be going towards tuition fees. I read somewhere if it’s a masters loan they class 30% of it as income? What happens with that, do they take (say £3000 is 30%) and divide it over the 12 months and class it as £250 a month income? (Additionally would this be exempt from a UC deduction as there is a £293 work allowance before deduction)