Never had a job because no one will give me a chance... — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Never had a job because no one will give me a chance...

Zee_64
Zee_64 Community member Posts: 14 Listener
edited October 2021 in Work and employment
I have Spastic Diplegia CP and a Stammer. I've applied to numerous of jobs I'm either unsuccessful or I don't hear anything back..

anyone else had a similar experience? any advise? 
Tagged:

Comments

• woodbine
    woodbine Community member Posts: 11,519 Disability Gamechanger
    have you thought of volunteering to get some work experience?
    2024 The year of the general election...the time for change is coming 💡

• Zee_64
    @woodbine I've been volunteering for a charity organisation since Feb 2020
  • Ross_Alumni
    Ross_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,652 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @Zee_64

Welcome to the community, it's good to see you join us. 

Sorry to hear that you are having challenges with job opportunities, it can be a very competitive market out there sometimes and landing a role is difficult. Volunteering is a good option as suggested above, and you could also explore some of Scope's employment services to see if any of them would suit you. Getting help and advice with things like CV writing, job hunting and interview skills are essential to get that upper hand on any competition, especially if you're at a time where you've struggled for experience.
    Online Community Coordinator

Concerned about another member's safety or wellbeing? Flag your concerns with us.

Did you receive a helpful reply to your discussion? Fill out our feedback form and let us know about it.
  • MissMarple
    MissMarple Community member Posts: 187 Pioneering