Subject Access Request Template Letter — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Subject Access Request Template Letter

Options
YogiBear
YogiBear Community member Posts: 9 Connected
Hi

This is my first time posting so please bare with me.  I am looking to get copies of my medical records from my GP for my PIP renewal when it comes through and I'm just wondering if anyone could advise if there is a template letter that I could use to do this.

Many thanks for your help
Yogi Bear

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    edited October 2021
    Options
    You do not need an SAR. A simple request is all that’s needed.
    Some GPs will have a form they want you to complete.
    Remember that PIP is not based on a medical diagnosis but about the impact your health has on your ability to carry out the activities. Consider therefore how much medical evidence you actually need. If you ask for your an SAR/complete records your GP will provide a copy of every medical letter and report they have on file. Depending on your medical history that can be a lot of paper (much of which, possibly most, will not be helpful).

https://www.nhs.uk/using-the-nhs/about-the-nhs/how-to-access-your-health-records/

Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,056 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    I requested my medical records for my review. When i received them (digital copies) there was nothing in there was was useful to use so i didn't send anything. All i sent was my repeat prescription list. The rest was my anecdotal evidence. I had a paper based review with a very fast turn around of about 6ish weeks.