Hi, I'm m3, AS, osteoporosis and liver cirrhosis — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I'm m3, AS, osteoporosis and liver cirrhosis

M3dcol
M3dcol Community member Posts: 62 Connected
Hi all, I've been diagnosed with the above over the last 18 months and at 41, previously healthy and very active this has been the all too often used 'bombshell'. Struggling a bit to get used to my limitations and life in general as many adaptations are having to be made and as helpful people keep pointing out "your not really disabled though" when they see my badge in a car park or me attempting contortionism to free my body from all too regular lock ups and stiffness. I'm new to the 'group' thing, typical man who can handle it on his own syndrome, so have no idea why I'm doing this nor what to expect from baring my soul, just, I suppose, an outlet with people in similar situations, their are many in worse positions 

Comments

• Tori_Scope
    Tori_Scope Scope Posts: 12,488 Disability Gamechanger
    Welcome to the community @M3dcol :) It's great to have you on board! Don't worry about not quite knowing what you're looking for, as our members chat about a wide range of topics and you're welcome to get involved in whatever capacity you're comfortable with, entirely at your own pace.

Thank you for being so open and honest in your first post here. I'm sorry to hear that you've experienced some people saying that you're 'not really disabled'. You're certainly not alone in having to face these kinds of comments, but I appreciate that doesn't make it any less hurtful or invalidating. 

Are the adaptations helping, despite taking some getting used to?