Moving house and all that entails.... — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Moving house and all that entails....

TheAlien
TheAlien Community member Posts: 228 Pioneering
I need to move house shortly, mainly due to damp, lack of adaptations issues and a complete breakdown in trust in my landlord.  I've been fighting for essential repairs for over 5 years, but that's another story.

I'll, hopefully, be moving into an already adapted bungalow, so that solves one problem, but.... the bungalow is in another area so I'll have to move from income based LCWRA ESA to UC.  I also get PIP.

To fund the move (new carpets, curtains, actual moving costs, furniture I need to replace due to damp etc) I may need to draw from my pension fund.  The drawings would be less than the amount allowed in savings as its a very small pension pot, plus it would be spent fairly quickly.

Can anyone offer any advice as to the best way to manage this?

Comments

• calcotti
    calcotti Community member Posts: 10,010 Disability Gamechanger
    When you say less than the amount allowed - do you mean less than £6000 or less than £16,000?
    Information I post is for England unless otherwise stated. Rules may be different in other parts of UK.
  • TheAlien
    Less than £6,000.
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,352 Disability Gamechanger
    TheAlien said:
    Less than £6,000.

Savings of less than this amount do not affect means tested benefits.
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • calcotti
    TheAlien said:
    Less than £6,000.
    Provided your total savings remain below £6000 you need not report them to UC and your benefit entitlement will be unaffected.