Permitted Work ESA Support Group — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Permitted Work ESA Support Group

CelticGaz
CelticGaz Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hello All I’m a Newbie and I have a complicated question to ask please, hoping to get some help. OK my wife and I are on ESA and in a support group. I am her carer and get CA.

I am able bodied and would like to do some permitted work to get out of the house for my mental health. How much am I allowed to earn? I’ve been previously told £20 per week but can’t find any information on this it’s too confusing 

TIA

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,330 Disability Gamechanger
    It will depend on who's name the claim is in, if it's yours then you will need to make sure you work less than 16 hours per week and earn no more than £143/week. Although because you're claiming carers allowance you must make sure than you don't earn anymore than £128 per week.
    If it's your wifes ESA claim then you will only be allowed to earn £20 per week. If it's her claim do you know if any part of her ESA is Contributions based? or is it all Income Related?
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.
    If i see a question that i know the answer to i will try my best to help.
  • CelticGaz
    CelticGaz Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Ah well that confirms what I’ve been told, it is my wife’s name on the claim and I believe it’s income related as we get free prescriptions 

Thank You 
  • Libby_Alumni
    Libby_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 1,251 Pioneering
    Hi @CelticGaz

I'm glad @poppy123456 could answer your question, is there anything else that we can help with today? :) 
    Online Community Information Coordinator
    Scope