Pain when standing — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Pain when standing

mummynic
mummynic Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited June 2014 in Cerebral palsy
Hi,
My little boy (almost 16 months old) has recently been diagnosed with spastic diplegia. In the last couple of days he has started standing up but i am concerned that he seems to be in pain and is crying once he has been standing for more than a few seconds. Today I have contacted the CDC that he is under about it and i am hoping that his consultant will get back to me tomorrow as i am worried about the discomfort he seems to be experiencing. His physio has referred him for some special boots but we haven't got an appointment for the fitting yet so he is standing up with bare feet.
Is it common for children with cp to be in pain when standing? Sorry if this is a silly question but i'm new to this so don't really know what to expect.
x

Comments

• b8s
    b8s Community member Posts: 33 Listener
    Congratulations on your child's achievement.
    My daughter is not standing yet, but she does experience discomfort/ pain when in new positions. You are right to mention it to your consultant and physio, as pain can always be an indication of a problem. This is one of the things I find hardest with my daughter, trying to determine discomfort pain from pain which should be investigated.
  • kingboy25
    kingboy25 Community member Posts: 57 Listener
    Hi
    My son has distonia and I don't have much first hand esperience with spacisity but here goes. First of all this is a new experience for him and he will take some time to get used to it so he will cry. Keep the sessions very short for now and make sure he associates the experience with pleasure. maybe playing with a favourite toy, DVD even a taste of a favourite food.