right to buy — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

right to buy

Options
kate152
kate152 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Housing I live in a one bedroom bungalow and would like to know my rights on right to buy 

Comments

• Alex
    Alex Posts: 1,305 Pioneering
    edited December 2016
    Options
    Hi @kate152

Welcome to the community!

There is a guide to "right to buy" from the Government here:
    https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/428698/150515_Your_Right_to_Buy_Your_Home_A_Guide_May_2015.pdf

I don't know your particular situation, but it might be relevant to know (from page 4) that as a tenant, you may be able to claim housing benefit to help with your rent - however you cannot claim this to help with a mortgage. 

I also presume that you don't live in sheltered housing - which is exempt from the scheme.

I'm not an expert, this is just what I've learnt from a quick Google search, but I hope that's useful.

Thanks,
    Alex

• Debbie_Alumni
    Debbie_Alumni Community member Posts: 932 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi @kate152,

Before we can work out what your rights are, we would need to know what your current housing status is. Are you a secure tenant? How long have you lived in your property?

Other things you need to look into more importantly are whether you will need a mortgage to purchase the property. Do you have a deposit? Is your income enough to sustain a mortgage and the responsibility of repairing and maintaining the property?