Trouble recruiting Personal Assistants — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Trouble recruiting Personal Assistants

anaqi
anaqi Community member Posts: 52 Courageous
Hi!

I have been on direct payments for many years but I'm having serious difficulty in recruiting personal assistants.  My loyal PA of 8 years retired in the summer.  My support service recommended getting two PAs so they can cover for each other.  I only have 24 hours in my package from social services so that would be 12 hours a week for each PA.

I initially found two people, one accepted then the next day turned down the job because they needed more hours for working tax credits, and the other accepted the job, worked for a month and then quit giving no notice due to child care difficulties.

I found and employed some one else for mornings but I can't find anyone to do afternoons.  I've been advertising for nearly six months now and I'm getting very frustrated.  I'm struggling without the help I need and my health is suffering.  

The people who apply for the position either can't do the hours I need or don't have transport and live an hour away from me.  The last round of interviews I invited 5 people and only two turned up.  Yesterday I invited four people to interviews and nobody turned up.  The support service lady thinks people are applying just to meet the quote so they can keep their benefits and they have no intention of working.  I

I've been advertising on the support service's website, the job centre, Gumtree and local Facebook job groups.  The job has also appeared on Indeed website.  I am paying £7.50 an hour, which is above minimum wage but I can't afford to pay anymore as social services only give me £9.10 an hour.  I can't use local care agencies because they cannot provide the support I need as a disabled parent of three children.

Does anyone have any suggestions?  I really don't know what else I can do.

Comments