AIBU Shopping at Aldi — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

AIBU Shopping at Aldi

annieod
annieod Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hi All,

A newbie here so apologies if im posting in the wrong section or shouldn't be posting this at all.

I went to my local Aldi store a few weeks ago, I was having a good day so was able to drive and walk slowly using the trolley for help. Now we like almond milk in our house so I thought whilst it was very cheap I'd grab a box of 8, to do this I had to put them in the trolley one by one then placed the cardboard outer in the trolley and transferred the milk one by one again into the cardboard.

This has tired me somewhat and so once I get to the checkout I place one carton on the belt with my other few bits, doing this as I know I'm going to have transfer them again one by one to my car - feeling this would be a bit too much but hey I was on a role.

The checkout assistant told me 'No - its company policy that they must scan every item individually therefore please present all 8 of exactly the same milk on the belt.

The store is busy and I really don't want to make a fuss, I explain my situation and I'm told yet again it's company policy.

i manage to place all the cartons in and out yet again, close to tears, pay and leave transfer them to the car, then cry most of the way home.

i then decided to contact head office, who advised me that this was correct and they hope I'll shop there again. I advised them how difficult it was for me and also the effects that left me stuck at home on strong medication for a number of days.

Im lucky as my other half will gladly do the shopping, am I being unreasonable though to want a small bit of independence still?

Are Aldi correct with how they dealt with me?

Any advice/comments are gratefully received.......

Comments

• Ariel
    Ariel Community member Posts: 16 Courageous