On sick pay, refused PIP and falling behind with bills — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

On sick pay, refused PIP and falling behind with bills

Options
lynned69
lynned69 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited March 2017 in PIP, DLA, and AA
hi i have been on sick pay for 6 months now due to arthritic joints i work as a carer and in so much pain everyday i cant continue my job any longer 
i applied for pip and because i could plan a journey and make a light meal i was refused any help 
please can someone advise of what i can do as im only on £354 per month and have fallen behind with bills etc 

Comments

• Chris_Alumni
    Chris_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 689 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi Lynned69, welcome to the community. I've moved your post to out benefits advisors' thread as they may be able to help. You might also want to try our online benefits calculator, to see if you are eligible for any other benefits, such as ESA. Scope's information pages on money and finances may also be useful.
  • BenefitsTrainingCo
    BenefitsTrainingCo Community member Posts: 2,621 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi Lynned69

PIP is one of a number of benefits you might be entitled to. Firstly, i suggest you request a mandatory reconsideration of the decision which you must usually do within one month of the decision being made. Late requests can be made but you have to explain why you are late. PIP rules can be crazily complicated and it would be well worth finding some help locally if you can. You might also like to use this guide on claiming PIP produced by Disability Rights UK.