Media representation of disability — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Media representation of disability

LH1506
LH1506 Community member Posts: 1 Listener

Hi all,  

Nice to cyber meet you! I’m new to the Scope community, I’ve been campaigning with Scope for about 2 years now and was on the Scope for Change programme. As a disabled person, one of the biggest issues I find is the lack of representation of disabled people in the media, this is something I’m really interesting to working towards changing.

Recently I spoke at the British Film Institute about my thoughts around disability representation in the media, and last night I spoke at Rufus Leonard in London – they are independent creative agency. One of their staff members has put together a group called Think Designable, which is a new steering group of advertising / brand / marketing experts wanting to change the representation of disability in the media, particularly advertising and brands. It was the first meeting, so was a chance for the group to get to new each other. I was invited along to give my views as a young disabled person of how I felt I was represented growing up, and how powerful the media is in influencing attitudes to and the perception of disability.