Discrimination or not? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Discrimination or not?

ibartlett
ibartlett Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hi

Newbie here so apologies if this is an inappropriate post or in the wrong place - mods feel free to move or delete if I have transgressed.

A friend of mine has a combination of conditions, primarily Parkinsons, that severely limits his mobility.  He has for many years been a regular at his local football club, until this year being a season ticket holder.  Unfortunately his health was such at the beginning of this season that he had to stop going so did not renew his ticket.  Fortunately, as the weather has improved he has found his mobility increasing and decided to travel to a recent game.  He asked one of his neighbours (who has zero interest in football) to go as his carer and went to the ticket office to buy a carer/disabled pair of tickets, advertised buy the club.

He had with him various letters and confirmation of his disabled status along with photo ID (despite the fact he was known to many of the staff who knew full well his status).

His request was refused on the basis that the carer/disabled ticket was only available to anyone who registered their status at the beginning of the season.  He was offered the opportunity to purchase 2 full price tickets.

My question is, does this constitute discrimination under the Disability Act?

Thanks in advance for any assistance

Ian

Comments

• Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    HI @ibartlett welcome to the community!

I am not sure of exact laws around discrimination but this does sound very unfair! There is lots of information here about discrimination.

I would definitely be going back to the football club and asking for this to be looked into.
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • AlexW_Scope
    AlexW_Scope Scope Posts: 224 Pioneering