Support for my child with learning disabilitys and anxiety with autistic traits — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Support for my child with learning disabilitys and anxiety with autistic traits

Options
iamgroot
iamgroot Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited October 2021 in Autism and neurodiversity

Hi

im new here.

I have 5 children,my youngest two are twins and one has been diagnosed with learning disabilitys and anxiety with autistic traits. she approx. 2/3 years behind her age group and is now being statemented and they suggest special school next year. she 5 nearly 6.

im completely new to all this so need some advice on what I can claim for etc,they've advised me at the hospital that I can claim dla and carers allowance and to apply for a card to help with holiday expenses and trips etc.is there any other hints tips etc to make our lives a little easier?

also as dumb as it may sound I need a little help understanding all of this,no one has taken the time to tell me much. for example,she can only write her name and even then she sometimes muddles the letters up. I will go over and over a word with her and she may get it right by the 10th go but I ask her 30 minutes later and its all forgot. will she always be likie this? can I help improve this in any way?

they also want her to go and have genetic testing done,has anyone elses child been for this and did it actually help you to understand? can it reveal autism or any other condition we don't yet know about?

thanks all

Comments

• Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @iamgroot welcome to the community, great name!! I love Guardians of the Galaxy!