Holidaying — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Holidaying

Options
JoOfVengerberg
JoOfVengerberg Scope Member Posts: 497 Pioneering
Hi friends. I'd like your input please. So I'm on Universal Credit, 29, living in a shared house (though hoping to get a council place soon due to a new diagnosis of fibromyalgia) and I am doing a PhD. My question is:

Is it OK to save for a relatively expensive treat while on benefits? I really desperately want to do something nice for myself on my 30th (June) as my 20s were difficult (PTSD, ED, the aforementioned fibro, etc.) and I just really want to celebrate being alive.

Would people think less of me if I saved and used my UC/student loan money to book a couple nights at an expensive hotel/spa? I've never done anything like this before, and my lovely friends say I deserve nice things, but is it the responsible, 'right' thing to be doing?

Thank you for reading. I'd love input from anyone who wants to engage!

:heart:
she/her, PhD student (disability fiction + cure), cerebral palsy + fibro
Tagged:

Comments

• durhamjaide2001
    durhamjaide2001 Community Co-Production Group, Scope Member Posts: 10,563 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Absolutely I know you are supposed to use your student loan for study materials. Also for universal credit as long as you are actively looking for jobs I don't see what the problem is.
  • JoOfVengerberg
    Options