advice please - messy family situation after mum's death — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

advice please - messy family situation after mum's death

Options
Jenwren
Jenwren Community member Posts: 9 Listener
Hi

This is my first time posting. I'm honestly not sure what section to post to because it combines family, money and benefits, if it doesn't belong here I apologise and will remove it.

Also apologies for the length in advance. It's a messy situation I'm in, mostly financial but I'm putting a bit of backstory (sorry).

Basically my Mum died at the end of May this year from dementia. I was her live in carer until she was sectioned and had to go into care (which I feel horribly guilty about). My stepdad has alzheimers and has carers 4 times a day, has no memory and I have safe guarding concerns that I feel are often ignored. He has an army of people - physio, district nurses, cathethar nurses etc. Social Services has said he cannot go into a care home, and he has no savings for this. His daughter comes round to visit weekly, but if there's any problems e.g. with cathetars etc (there's been a lot) I have to sort out. I'm getting worried about him doing something at night as thanks to physio he's now shuffling around the house (he has his own small annex within the house but doesn't stay in there). He always thinks there's people in the house or the carers never visit - honestly I went though it with mum, and I don't have the energy with him.