Migration notice. Partner works. Commitments. — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Migration notice. Partner works. Commitments.

Options
LucyLou221
LucyLou221 Community member Posts: 9 Listener
Good evening, 

We received our migration notice, from tax credits to uc. 
My partner works full time and received 24500 a year. We have 2 children. We get middle rate dla for our eldest. I am currently a ft student final year, it's 5 and a half hours per week taught sessions. 
I do care for our eldest more than 35 hours per week. 
The date on the migration is very close to my official university end date. 
As by then I will be not working but caring for our eldest (10) and as I understand I won't be told to look for work as a commitment. But my partner works 42 hours a week. Will he need to sign anything for the claim or will they just see his earnings? 
Thanks in advance. 

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,489 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    You will be able to claim carers element for your child and you won’t have any commitments.

Your partner will be in the light touch group due to their earnings.

When you claim UC you will both likely need to attend your local job centre as new claimants. You will both need to agree to your claimant commitments but very likely it will be to just agree to report changes. 
    I would appreciate it if members wouldn't tag me please. I have all notifcations turned off and wouldn't want a member thinking i'm being rude by not replying.