ESA Cont and ESA Income based query. — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

ESA Cont and ESA Income based query.

Options
LMJ
LMJ Community member Posts: 21 Courageous
I have been receiving income based ESA for 15 years, I also receive PIP. My partner has moved in with me and applied for Carer's Allowance, this happened a month ago. Carers Allowance say it will take 6 weeks to review his claim. I notified everyone I was supposed to. My partner has no savings and no income and I now need 24 hour care. The DWP changed my Income Based ESA (Support Group) to Contributions based and removed the disability premiums. My housing Benefit has now been suspended because I no longer have a passport benefit. I have contacted the DWP 3 times and been told someone will call me back but they have not. I am now trying to keep 2 people on my ESA benefit, my partner has no income at all and our rent is due in 10 days and will not be paid. Needless to say I am panicking and much worse off than I was before my partner moved in. Does anyone know what I should be doing other than having feeling constantly sick with worry?

Comments

• LMJ
    Options
    Just to add I was told that I swapped to Conts. ESA and the disability premiums were removed while they checked my partners income and savings (he has none). That was 6 weeks ago and my Housing Benefit claim will be permanently ended on March 1st.
  • poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 54,724 Disability Gamechanger
    Options