What is your experience of getting benefits?

kandarohi
kandarohi Community member Posts: 19 Contributor
I have been recieving benefits for 27 years. 

I have a condition called ME which is where overexertion causes long term disability to increase. Therefore exertion is potentially very dangerous. This puts me in a very difficult position with the DWP (Department of Work and Pensions) because if they do the wrong thing I could become like a vegetable, unable to move or speak. The DWP, schools & NHS have forced many people with my condition to overexert and many of them are bedridden as a result.

The only way I could work with the DWP is if I was in control of how much activity I do, at what pace, and when I stop. Otherwise its incredibly dangerous.

Have you ever had any experience of communicating with the DWP and getting any support for activity where YOU are in control and they dont sabotage things and try to push you?

I just feel like I cannot communicate with them, work with them, give them an inch because they will take a mile. I feel like they would destroy me physically & make me bedridden again if I attempted any kind of communication with these people.

The only communication I have had in my 27 years is endless forms telling me that I can only get funding for my powerchair if I cant wash myself or cook a meal. And that Im either completely incapable of anything or there is nothing wrong with me. 

I have lived the last 27 years of claiming these benefits feeling like Im on a life support machine where people are constantly trying to pull the plug. Feeling judged and always treated with suspicion. I always want to try to push myself physically but feel like if I do I will be punished or have my funding for my powerchair taken away & forced to overexert. I feel completely trapped unable to show any ability at all.