Remaining politically neutral during General Election 2024

Under guidance from the Electoral Commission and Charity Commission, it's important that Scope remains politically neutral during General Elections.

While we understand that this period will see many passionate discussions, please make sure that your comments remain respectful of other people's opinions and keep to our online community house rules.

I Got Turned Down in Paper Based Assesment

Options
Oceanlabyrinth
Oceanlabyrinth Community member Posts: 7 Listener
edited May 4 in PIP, DLA, and AA
Hi all, I'm a newbie but been reading most people's comments for a couple of months.

I was hoping my paper based assesment was an indication it was going to be successful. Alas no. I scored 0 in everything. And reading the comments at the end of the letter shows the assessor has no clue how autism affects people at all.

For example, in the daily living part I explained how my condition affected me. This form is supposed to show our worst days, right?

1) Preparing Food/Eating & Drinking:
I said my problem is I either use timed appliances (toasters, microwaves) to make food because I easily forget leaving them on (cookers and chip fat fryers are a no-no), buy from the shop or order online. When I'm in an autistic shutdown I forget to eat or drink at all. BUT APPARENTLY I AM FINE

2) Washing & Bathing/Dressing & Undressing
When I'm in an autistic shutdown I don't bathe for weeks and don't get dressed. BUT APPARENTLY I'M FINE

3) Communicating
Information has to be step by step and super clear or I can't take it in. BUT APPARENTLY I AM FINE

4) Reading
Because I can read (heaven forbid really, otherwise I wouldn't be able to fill in their sodding form, would I?! 🙄). But on my worst days I shut down and don't stimulate myself with such stuff. BUT APPARENTLY I AM FINE

5) Mixing with other people