Let us talk about technology — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Let us talk about technology

Options
simonsable
simonsable Community member Posts: 75 Connected
Hi everyone, I am Simon. I am 36 years old and have Cerebral Palsy and no speech. I have been using communication aids nearly all my life. I have had lots of experience in communicating with people with different communication systems. I also attend various communication aids training days through the year.

I am also have an interest in computers and how the Internet can enhance disabled people's lives and independence, thus giving them more opportunities to feel a part of society.

Comments

• hobsonish
    hobsonish Community member Posts: 1 Listener
    Options
    Hallo Simon. I couldn't agree more about the internet being a great way to enhance the communication options for those who have problems with speech.\

my daughter often uses facebook instant messaging to communicate with her mother and I, even though we're only in different rooms in the same house. If she's on her computer, it's much quicker and easier than either getting out of her chair and using her AAC device.