Hi, I'm a newbie looking for a bit of advice please... — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, I'm a newbie looking for a bit of advice please...

Hered243
Hered243 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited February 2019 in PIP, DLA, and AA
I receive PIP enhanced living and standard mobility allowance and i hold a disabilty blue badge. I have just written to DWP to see if they will change me to enhanced mobilty now as my walking has got increasingly worse over the last 3 months and I'm now unable to walk more than a dozen steps with my crutches without pain and fatigue... my question however is this... I have remitting and relapsing MS and my conditions can get dramatically worse or can improve a little... a relapse usually lasts around 6 months and then I'll recover a little whilst in remission before the whole cycle begins again, my concern is whether I should be telling the DWP everytime I'm in remission and risk them stopping my PIP only to have to reapply when I relapse again, which is inevitable. My disease is lifelong, debilitating and incurable but I have good months and bad months... I don't want to be accused of fraud when I'm in remission but worry if I stop my PIP I'll then end up having to start the whole year-long process all over again... what are people's thoughts on this please? Many thanks.

Comments

• thespiceman
    thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @Hered243 Pleased to meet you welcome.

Thank you for joining and sharing.