PIP, DLA and AA
If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Does a bed count as an aid for dressing?

AellaAella Member Posts: 13 Listener
I'm having a reasessment by phone for PIP.  Since my last assessment I've had a stroke, so my condition has worsened.  The stroke has left me so unbalanced that I can't stand on one leg any more, not even for a moment.  So when I get dressed, the only way I can put underwear trousers and socks on is to lie down on my bed and do it.  Does the bed count as an "aid or appliance to be able to dress or undress?"

Replies

• janer1967janer1967 Member Posts: 11,201 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi there and welcome to the community 

Im no expert but I wouldn't think a bed would count as a aid 

Non disabled people would sit on bed to get dressed as well 

I only have 1 leg and I didn't put it down but I don't know if that was wrong 

Other members will be able to help you can also look online for aids that are considered for pip 
  • mikehughescqmikehughescq Member Posts: 6,628 Disability Gamechanger
    See the commentary at https://pipinfo.net/activities/dressing-and-undressing.

However, if your bed has rails then it's worth a glance at https://www.rightsnet.org.uk/welfare-rights/caselaw/item/grab-rails-constitute-an-aid-or-appliance.

The gist is that a bed is an item that most often most people would use for dressing and thus it does not replace a function etc. However, there remain limited circumstances in which it could count as an aid so one must always be live to those. 
  • chiariedschiarieds Community Co-Production Group Posts: 9,197 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Aella - judges have disagreed over this one. Please see: https://pipinfo.net/issues/aids-and-appliances