Does a bed count as an aid for dressing? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Does a bed count as an aid for dressing?

Aella
Aella Community member Posts: 23 Connected
I'm having a reasessment by phone for PIP.  Since my last assessment I've had a stroke, so my condition has worsened.  The stroke has left me so unbalanced that I can't stand on one leg any more, not even for a moment.  So when I get dressed, the only way I can put underwear trousers and socks on is to lie down on my bed and do it.  Does the bed count as an "aid or appliance to be able to dress or undress?"

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi there and welcome to the community 

Im no expert but I wouldn't think a bed would count as a aid 

Non disabled people would sit on bed to get dressed as well 

I only have 1 leg and I didn't put it down but I don't know if that was wrong 

Other members will be able to help you can also look online for aids that are considered for pip 
  • chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,007 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Aella - judges have disagreed over this one. Please see: https://pipinfo.net/issues/aids-and-appliances
    'In [2015] UKUT 572 (AAC) Judge Mark ruled that a bed could be an aid for the purposes of getting dressed. However, in [2016] UKUT 197 AAC, Judge Jacobs disagreed finding that, whilst an item did not have to be specifically designed as an aid, it nevertheless must be sufficiently 'connected' to the activity to count as an aid for the purposes of PIP. In [2016] UKUT 501 (AAC), Judge Markus prefers the ‘connection argument’, holding that sitting was a ‘usual and normal’ way to dress which meant a bed was not an aid for dressing or undressing in all but the most exceptional cases.'