Question for wheelchair users - is there a trick to help when on a sloped pavement? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Question for wheelchair users - is there a trick to help when on a sloped pavement?

Daniel_2021
Daniel_2021 Community member Posts: 79 Courageous
Hi,
I'm new to using a wheelchair, i'm due to get my bespoke chair on 27th so i'm in an intermediate one at the moment.
My question is: Is there a trick or any technique that helps when on a pavement?
Although the slope towards the pavement is only slight it really impacts one arm whilst the other gets a break (until the way back!). I'm just trying to improve my technique in the hope of travelling greater distances.
Thanks,
Daniel 

Comments

• janer1967
    janer1967 Community member Posts: 21,964 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi 

I presume you are referring to a manual chair?

Just take the camber at its slightest point

Using manual chair is very hard especially on hills

I use a manual chair in the house but a power chair or scooter outside as there is no way I can sell propel outside 
  • Daniel_2021
    Daniel_2021 Community member Posts: 79 Courageous
    @janer1967 Hi, sorry yes I mean a manual one. I'm still that new that i've not even explored power ones yet.
    I've heard the word camber but i'll be honest i'm not too sure what it means. If you have a pavement so the curb is on the left i.e the lowest point should I wheel at the lowest or highest point?